Skip to content

2023-2024 Donald Bullough Fellowship

  • by

The Department of Medieval History at the University of St Andrews invites applications for the Donald Bullough Fellowship, to be taken up during either semester of the academic year 2023-2024.

The Fellowship is open to any academic in a permanent university post with research interests in medieval history. The financial aspect of the fellowship is a subsidy (up to £4000) towards the cost of travel to St Andrews and accommodation during your stay. The successful applicant is normally someone enjoying research leave from their own institution. Previous Fellows have included Dr Christina Pössel, Professor Cynthia Neville, Dr Ross Balzaretti, Dr Marlene Hennessy, Professor Warren Brown, Dr Edward Coleman, Professor Richard Kaeuper, Dr Natasha Hodgson, Professor Jacqueline Murray, Professor Ruth Mazo Karras, Professor Cullen Chandler, Professor Dan Smail, and Professor Sarah Hamilton. The fellowship is currently held by Dr Charles Insley (2022-2023). 

The Fellowship carries with it no teaching duties, though the Fellow is expected to take part in the normal seminar life of the medieval historians during their stay in St Andrews. Weekly seminars, held on a Monday evening, run from September–December, and January–April. You will also be invited to lead a workshop on your chosen research theme during your stay. Fellows are provided with computing facilities and an office alongside the medieval historians in the Department. The university library has an excellent collection for medieval historians.

You should send a letter of application by the advertised closing date, together with a scheme of research for the project on which you will be engaged during your time in St Andrews. You should also enclose a CV, together with the names of two academic referees, who should be asked to write by the closing date. All correspondence should be addressed to [email protected]

The closing date for applications is Thursday December 1st. Previous applicants should not be deterred from applying.

Further enquiries may be addressed to the Departmental Chair, Professor Justine Firnhaber-Baker (

Image via Unsplash, by Karbon Designed.